The Gold Award 2024


6 July - 8 September 2024

Gallery 2.1 | Free

Rockhampton Museum of Art is proud to present this acquisitive painting prize again in 2024. This invitational award showcases the finest in contemporary Australian painting practice, with the most outstanding work to be acquired into Rockhampton Museum of Art’s nationally significant collection.

The Gold Award 2024 Artists:

  • Patricia Hoffie
  • John Honeywill
  • Jumaadi
  • Tjungkara Ken
  • Rosella Namok
  • Ryan Presley
  • Gareth Sansom
  • Louise Tuckwell

Guest Judge – The Gold Award 2024

Godwin Bradbeer is a visual artist working in photography, painting and drawing. He has taught at the University of Melbourne, the Victorian College of the Arts, Monash University and other art schools in Australia and in Asia. From 2005 until 2010 he was the Head of Drawing in the School of Art at RMIT University in Melbourne. Bradbeer has had over 50 solo exhibitions in a career beginning in the 1970s. His work is included within the collections of the National Gallery of Australia, National Gallery of Victoria, Art Gallery of New South Wales, the Art Gallery of South Australia, Parliament House, Korean Art Institute, University of Western Carolina in the United States, and other institutional collections nationally and internationally. Bradbeer’s 2018 monograph was authored by Janet McKenzie and published by Thames and Hudson. His most recent solo exhibition 'Solitaire: The Performance Suite' was at Galerie La Capitale, Paris, in March of 2024.


JUDGE Godwin studio 1..jpg

Godwin Bradbeer in his studio. Image courtesy the artist.