The Bayton Award 2023 Finalist Exhibition

TBA23-RMOA-Carousel-Centre (002).png

14 October - 26 November 2023

Gallery 2.2


The Bayton Award is an art prize and exhibition open to all forms of art media created by Central Queensland artists.

The Bayton Award is presented by Rockhampton Regional Council’s Rockhampton Museum of Art and consists of 4 categories of cash prizes totalling $18,000:

The Bayton Award: $10,000

The Bayton Award Runner-Up: $5,000

The Bayton Award People’s Choice: $1,000

Chris Warby Emerging Artist Bursary x 2: $1,000 each

Entries have now closed.

Key Dates

Entry opening date: Monday 19 June 2023 9:00am AEST

Entry closing date: Monday 24 July 2023 4:00pm AEST

Finalists’ notification: Friday 11 August 2023

Artwork delivery deadline: Monday 11 September 2023

Prize-giving ceremony: Saturday 14 October 2023

Exhibition period: Saturday 14 October – Sunday 26 November 2023

Artwork pick-up deadline: Monday 18 December 2023



The selection panel and judge for The Bayton Award 2023 are visual arts experts living outside of Central Queensland and independent of Rockhampton Regional Council.

Rockhampton Museum of Art is pleased to announce Hamish Sawyer as the guest judge for The Bayton Award 2023.


Image: Hamish Sawyer. Photo: Sam Cranstoun

Hamish Sawyer is a curator, writer and currently the Acting Director of NorthSite Contemporary Arts, Cairns. Recent curatorial projects include ‘Sandra Selig: Exploring Giant Molecules’, at the University of Sunshine Coast Art Gallery and University of New South Wales Galleries, and ‘After Fairweather’ at the Caboolture Regional Art Gallery; both in 2022. From 2016 to 2019, Sawyer was Curator at the Caloundra Regional Gallery, Sunshine Coast, where he organised exhibitions by Alfredo & Isabel Aquilizan, Natalya Hughes, Laith McGregor and Elizabeth Willing. Sawyer has previously worked at the Queensland Art Gallery / Gallery of Modern Art, serving as a co-curator for the 8th Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art (APT8) in 2015. He has also held positions at the Institute of Modern Art (IMA) and Arts Queensland, as well as working for several commercial galleries. Sawyer has written for publications including Art Monthly Australasia, Sunnie, in addition to monographs on artists Michael Cook, Laith McGregor, Sandra Selig and Marian Tubbs.


Shortlisting for The Bayton Award 2023 Finalist Exhibition will be decided by our selection panel:

Freja Carmichael, Quandamooka woman and independent curator in Meanjin/Brisbane

Stephen Bird, artist and Lecturer at Byron School of Art



Entrants must have resided in one of the following regions or shires for 12 months or more in the 18 months immediately prior to the entry closing date 24 July 2023: Rockhampton, Livingstone, Gladstone, Banana, Woorabinda, Central Highlands, Isaac, Barcaldine, Blackall-Tambo, Longreach, Winton, Barcoo, Diamantina and Boulia.

Entry will be via an online application form which will be made available when entries open.

Entry Fee: $30 per entry (maximum of 3 entries)



Two-dimensional artworks cannot exceed 2 metres in any given dimension (inclusive of frame). A stretched canvas is considered framed.

Three-dimensional artworks cannot exceed 2 metres in height and 2 cubic meters in volume.

All works must be able to be safely carried by two people and not exceed a maximum weight of 30kg.


Terms and Conditions for Entry

Click here(PDF, 185KB) to read all terms and conditions for entry.

Easton Dunne in their studio_2022_Photo by Obscura-_lowres72ppi.jpg

Image: Studio view with 2019 Bayton Award winner Easton Dunne, December 2022. Image courtesy the artist. Photo: Obscura.